The Artisan of Flavour

Cooking Italian is a craftsman’s labour, the work of an Artisan of Flavour.

Best Moment Award… and something different

best-moment-award1

A few days ago I have received the Best Moment Award from Simona Lidia. Very kind of her. As my midweek schedule is usually very hectic, one way or another, I did not have the chance to accomplish the duties that come with it.

So here I am, on a reasonably cloudy British Saturday morning, writing a post that completely differs from the usual content of the blog. Why am I doing this? I’m doing this for two reasons.

. Reason #1 – I think it’s always good when people recognise others: at work, in sports… also in the kitchen. It’s a healthy thing to do, it leads to positivity. I feel too often, nowadays, we are taught to overlook the truly good things and focus on the shallow mediocrity that feeds a lazy life. Then live an existence of resentment and enmity. Somehow, it’s the same relation that exists between a pre-cooked take-away meal and a homemade feast. We all should read the likes of Weber, Durkheim, More, Neville and Bacon, of course alongside this blog hehe. Possibly I never mentioned amongst my interests lies sociology of culture… now you’re aware! ;)

. Reason #2 – I run a food & wine blog which content I keep very strict. Despite the About page, it may be difficult to know the person behind the blog. These posts may help you getting a better idea of who I am, outside the kitchen.

Writing this post is also an opportunity for me to look into this very few months of this blog. Although wisdom usually comes with age, I am very happy with the way the blog is coming along, even if it’s still so young. There are more things I would like to write about, but time is what it is and I guess some will have to wait… hopefully not too long. Part of the merit goes of course to the friend who helps me, contributing with her amazing baking skills and knowledge.

Now, I understand I now have to nominate someone for the award and pass it on to them. I’m not for big lists so I only have two entries:

. Campari and Sofa – Everything I read on this blog has always an interesting point to make. Its posts are never shallow and amongst its pages there is always a degree of wisdom: nowadays a very rare good to find.

. COUNTRYWOODSMOKE – Apologies to all the vegetarians out there: you fight for a very good cause but I’m an incurable carnivorous and this is the blog that makes my mouth water every time I get a new post on my reader.

The third of the list would have been the very blog I received this award from. I guess it’s against the rules to send the award back to the person one receives it from. I won’t break the rules but please allow me to spend a few of words anyway. First of all to say thank you to Simona Lidia for thinking of my blog, appreciation is always appreciated.

Then let me encourage you to read through her posts. There is a truly amazing Italy which still exist beyond what makes the headline on the covers of gossip magazines, beyond the shameful reputation of a wrecked former prime minister and beyond everything that is taking the focus away from the heart of an incredible and wonderful country with an unparalleled cultural heritage. If you would like to discover more about the Italy that shaped the Renaissance, lead the world and still exist, Where Lemons Blossom is one of the places you want to be.

Thanks everyone for reading. With the next post I will be back to my usual contents, rumors say it’s going to be an amazing and healthy cake. Stay tuned! :)

Alessandro

 

RULES of the Best Moment Award:

Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video. Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awards! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award; and, winners, notify them the great news!

What makes a good acceptance speech? Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech
Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way
Humour. Keep us entertained and smiling
Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives
Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

2 comments on “Best Moment Award… and something different

  1. countrywoodsmoke
    May 18, 2013

    Thank you so kindly for mentioning my website Alessandro, am so chuffed that you like it :)
    Cheers
    Marcus

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2013 by in Awards and tagged , .

Keep up to date with the Artisan. Follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Top Posts & Pages

Disclaimer

All photos are taken by us and are of food we prepared. Recipes are also created by us. The content of this blog is intellectual property of its creators, copies and derivative works must be authorised and reference the original.
